Current Activities
Contact us
Members Only
National Standards
Site Map



CRIRSCO, which was formed in 1994 under the auspices of the Council of Mining and Metallurgical Institutes (CMMI), is a grouping of representatives of organisations that are responsible for developing mineral reporting codes and guidelines in Australasia (JORC), Brazil (CBRR), Canada (CIM), Chile (National Committee), Colombia (CCRR), Europe (PERC), India (NACRI), Indonesia (KOMBERS _ KCMI), Kazakhstan (KAZRC), Mongolia (MPIGM), Russia (NAEN), South Africa (SAMREC), Turkey (UMREK) and the USA (SME). The combined value of mining companies listed on the stock exchanges of these countries accounts for more than 80% of the listed capital of the mining industry.

The international initiative to standardise market-related reporting definitions for mineral resources and mineral reserves had its start at the 15th CMMI Congress at Sun City, South Africa in 1994. The mineral definitions working group (later called CRIRSCO) was formed after a meeting at that Congress, and was made up of representatives from the countries listed above (except for Chile, which joined later), with the primary objective of developing a set of international standard definitions for the reporting of mineral resources and mineral reserves.

In 1997, the five participants reached agreement (the Denver Accord) for the definitions of the two major categories, Mineral Resources and Mineral Reserves, and their respective sub-categories Measured, Indicated and Inferred Mineral Resources, and Proved and Probable Mineral Reserves.

In 1999, agreement was reached with the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UN-ECE), which had, since 1992, been developing an International Framework Classification for Mineral Reserves and Resources (UNFC), to incorporate into the UNFC the CMMI-CRIRSCO resource / reserve definitions for those categories that were common to both systems. This agreement gave true international status to the CMMI-CRIRSCO definitions.

Following these agreements, an updated version of the JORC Code was released in Australia in 1999 (and more recently, in 2012), followed by similar codes and guidelines in South Africa, USA, Canada, UK / Ireland / W Europe, Chile and Peru. The JORC Code (Joint Ore Reserves Committee of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Australian Institute of Geoscientists, and Minerals Council of Australia) has played a crucial role in initiating the development of standards definitions for these codes and guidelines.

The similarity of the various national reporting codes and guidelines has enabled CRIRSCO to develop an International Minerals Reporting Code Template, which is available on this web site. This can act as a "core code and guidelines" for any country wishing to adopt its own CRIRSCO-style reporting standard, after including provisions for country-specific requirements such as those of a legal and investment regulatory nature.

Following discussions over a number of years, CRIRSCO published Standard Definitions in October 2012. These fifteen definitions have been incorporated in International Reporting Template of CRIRSCO dated November 2013 and in the Codes and Standards of most of the CRIRSCO Members in their own updates.

Please click here to view CRIRSCO Standard Definitions.


Download The CRIRSCO International Reporting Template here 856 KB.


icmm logo